top of page

Revamp Your Relationship by Learning these 5 Love Languages

Updated: Jun 15, 2022

In 1992, almost 30 years ago, Gary Chapman wrote a book titled The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate.

The book explores how people have different personalities and with those differences come different views on love.

Chapman identified 5 ways to express AND receive love. I included the 5 ways and examples of each below:

1. Words of Affirmation

Compliments : You have a great voice. You look amazing in that outfit.

2. Acts of Service

Cleaning the house/car/dirty laundry (without being asked)

3. Receiving Gifts

Tickets (sports & shows) / Gift certificates (massage, cleaning services)

4. Quality Time

Take a weekend getaway or schedule a date night

5. Physical Touch

Give one another massages

When working with clients, I suggest they and their partner take the quiz separately, reflect on their results alone, then come together and discuss their results with one another. It’s important to be honest and vulnerable with your partner during this exercise.

Another thing that’s important to note is don’t just take the quiz and move on - reflect on it, write about it, discuss it and then implement it!

Since 1992 they expanded on the populations (outside of couples) for the 5 Love Languages, now including: Family, Singles, Work, Men, Military, Children & Teens

If you’re interested in learning more, there’s a website, book and podcast!

30 views0 comments


bottom of page